The Final Getting Angry With Greg Mitchell

Greg Mitchell’s final column for The Cat’s Whiskers. He’ll be sadly missed (by me anyway!)
These are pretty grim times we’re living in at the moment. The Euro zone is in crisis, fuel bills rise almost every day, the stock markets collapse at the drop of a hat and ITV gave 71 Degrees North a second series. We’re all looking for a nugget of good news to keep us going through the days and I’m pleased to say that despite the lack of a skateboarding duck I’ve got some good news to impart, this is going to be my last article. Quick cover the NIC in bunting and hang a flag of that sculpture thingy in Bolero Square before he changes his mind!
I’ve come to the conclusion over the last few weeks that what people want from The Cat’s Whiskers has changed and I’m not entirely sure that what I bring to the table has a place anymore. People no longer seem to want to listen to an opinion, and that’s all I’ve ever offered – my opinion, they simply want the facts and to let other people hear theirs. If you disagree with them you’re wrong or you’re not as good a fan as them. These people want everyone to listen to them without actually listening themselves.
Despite what some people think I’ve never said I was right. I wrote about how I saw things at the time. It made no odds to me whether I was talking about the Panthers or the opposition. If there was something to I felt I needed to talk about I did regardless of who, what or where they were. I’d like to think that I’ve covered the things that mattered (to me at least) in the columns I’ve written. Some may not like my style and I know that I can get too angry at times but that is because I care about this game and like I said these things MATTERED.
I’ve been accused of moaning for moaning’s sake and with the start Panthers have made this year it could be levelled at me again. I wouldn’t agree though. I still think there are any number of problems with this club that winning a few games will hide. That’s sports fans for you though, we don’t care how the money is spent or the way we’re treated as long as we score more than them every week. Panthers aren’t alone in having problems and maybe our problems aren’t as great as others but we’re no saints and I still think it is good that there is a voice the speaks out when it is needed. It’s just a shame others seem to disagree.
The world moves on, I appreciate that, and what people are given only makes them want more. You only have to look at TCW Live to see that. It’s a free service, as good as if not better than anything offered by fans of any other clubs in this country and yet there are those for whom it isn’t enough. They want chat rooms, scrolling messages, more and more that cannot be provided by the software or the already stretched resources of those doing it. They want to have their voices heard again and yet they don’t want to help achieve the (achievable) goals. I’ve got a simple message for those people, there’s a (albeit small) gap I’m leaving here for a (normally) weekly column. Try and fill it, you obviously feel you’ve got something to say so let the world hear it. It’s easy to start, just e-mail Jono and ask him if you can do it. It’s a lot harder to keep it up but I hope you find that out. Give it a go, it can be quite cathartic at times, you won’t please everyone all the time and I’m not entirely sure you should try.
There are things I never really got the chance to talk about at the length I wanted. Things like the fans who want to predict with the certainty of a cheap Goose Fair guess your age hawker what the forward lines will be after we’ve signed three players or the pure fallacy of the idea that enforcers reduce the number of injuries inflicted on players. You’ll be glad you didn’t get me started on the matchnight presentation, why you’ll never hear me whistling that dreadful music from the end of a game (it almost makes you hope we’ll lose) or why John Craighead really, really shouldn’t be shown amongst the legends on the new introduction video. I guess I’ll leave them to someone else now. If, that is, someone is daft enough to take up the mantle.
Finally (more bunting), I just want to thank Jono for giving me the opportunity to force what I originally described as my incoherent ramblings on an unsuspecting world. I may not always have made sense and I may have spent too long trying to say it but I’ve enjoyed it and I hope some of you have too.

Jono’s note: Thanks Greg and goodbye, if you ever want to resurect this column you know where to get in touch with me.

6 Responses to “The Final Getting Angry With Greg Mitchell”


  1. 1 Martin October 10, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    Enjoyed this column! Maybe a Christmas special? You’ll never please 100% of the people who read your words. Some will read once and never again, for some it will be a talking point and for others they’ll read every week. That’s the the thing with life, sometimes you’re ahead, sometimes you’re behind.

  2. 2 JohnnyfromDonny October 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I’m using an iPhone and have fat fingers so this will be brief. As a fan of the “opposition” up the M1 I’ve always looked forward to and mostly enjoyed Greg’s articles. It’s not easy to produce something that stirs the emotions on a regular basis and I, for one, appreciate that. There aren’t enough characters around in sport in general these days and Greg will be sorely missed. Your description of fans’ opinion is spot on and I recognise them for what they are regardless of their colours.

  3. 3 Elaine Thompson October 10, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    You can please some of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time! Have enjoyed every single column you have written and will certainly miss it 😦

  4. 4 Mark (A panthers fan, not a sycophant) October 10, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    I will miss these ‘angry’ sessions. I’m not saying I agreed with every view or opinion – that’s the point isn’t it. It’s someone’s opinion. Everyone is allowed one. Greg please ‘get angry’ again.

  5. 5 Barrie October 11, 2011 at 8:33 am

    It is a sad day, I always loOk forward. To reading his article and nodding in agreement. Mr Angry enjoy your retirement but come back soon cause we need people to give another point of view rather then that of the happy clappers and puck bunnies

  6. 6 Stefan October 21, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Been out of the loop for a few day due to working nights and being shattered when i came home. I was really looking forward to the column at stupid o’clock this morning, as I was actually awake enough to read it! It’s a shame I’ll not have another to read, agree, debate and get angry about. As has been said, you had an oppinion. It’s also been said in differant words that you were someone who had the guts to say it without the worry of offending. Very few people are able to do that. Your column will be sorely missed. Don’t be gone too long


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 829,388 hits since 20th May 2008

