I’m guessing we won?

Now, I now that we as Panthers fans dislike losing and when we do lose some of the outburst and opinions go a bit too far, however we are just mere amateurs when it comes to our friends just 39 miles to the north. To say Steelers fans have taken defeat badly would be an understatement. Now I know that some of us would be a little bit bitter if our great rivals had shut us out two games in a row and won the last six encounters on the bounce, but defeat seems to have a strange effect on the average Steelers fan. For example, the year 1956 seems to get mentioned quite a lot, along with listing their trophies won (which is pretty much the same as a bank robber laying out his ill gotten gains for all to see!)
Bottom line is they can’t take defeat (most can’t to be fair but they are quite easily the worst in the league) and they can’t take banter with it either. Prime example is on joke forum SteelTalk. They can dish it out like champions, but can they take it back? Can they arse! A link was posted to Ryan Finnerty’s apology to Steelers fans for his game winning performance for Panthers on Saturday, to which I replied as follows “No need to apologise Ryan, you keep up the good work fella” which had the response from one of their disciples “We will see at arena won’t we jono? 1956? And no way near it again this year!” (That year coming up again!) My pictorial reply of a large fish in a fisherman’s keep-net didn’t go down too well either! They just don’t do banter very well (unless they’re the ones dishing it out!) As I said at the start, we aren’t the best at taking defeat ourselves, but they can’t take it at all, even when it comes to a bit of harmless banter.

That brings me on to the second part of this article, when banter can sometimes cross into downright abuse. On Saturday night I came very close to stopping the TCW Live coverage due to the amount of abuse we were getting. This only happens when we play Sheffield. I will say though at this point that it is only a minority and the vast majority of viewers from Sheffield were incredibly complimentary about the coverage.
I perfectly accept that I make no secret of my extreme dislike of the Sheffield Steelers and I also accept that the coverage may come across as biased, but we are all Panthers fans who do it so that should be no surprise to anyone. I’m very proud to say that the coverage generally has an excellent reputation amongst fans from other teams, but it seems that some Steelers fans think that they have an excuse to throw whatever abuse they like because there is a Panthers bias. I don’t want this to be some sort of ‘oh, woe is me’ type of moan, but it has to be remembered that Iain, Adie, Tom, Greg, Luke, Ant, Aleta & myself all do this for free, sometimes missing parts of the game so that those at home know what’s happening, and it seems a small minority of Steelers fans forget that. We don’t do it to get abused, some of the comments that were sent on Saturday were just totally out of order, it spoils our enjoyment of doing it which then translates to the enjoyment of the genuine fans that want to follow the game at home.
I’ll say again what I said on Saturday to the small minority of aggressors, if you don’t like it, don’t watch it, because you don’t deserve such a great service that people give up their time to bring you.

10 Responses to “I’m guessing we won?”


  1. 1 Phil November 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    well said Jono typical reaction to a free service that these abuser would not deliver and probably haven’t got a clue how to deliver, keep up the good work you and the rest of the crew.

  2. 2 shelly November 14, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    I completely agree with all of it jono, I actually thought at one point you were going to wrap it up half way through the game, I could`nt make it so had you on here, could`nt believe the comments being published, you all deliver a great service and as you say for FREE and in your own time! i`m sure there are more of us that appreciate you than those who don`t. Can`t you block the abusive ones so you don`t have to be subjected to reading them? All i can say is keeep up the hard work and THANK YOU!

  3. 3 Pete November 14, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Being at the match on Saturday, I was not aware of the abuse you were getting on TCW Live. This is appalling. Even as a Panthers fan, I don’t agree with some of the bias that is on TCW Live. However, two reasons I don’t say anything; 1. It’s free and an excellent service. 2. As you have mentioned, you do not get paid, making me even more appreciative. On the rare occasion there is a Panthers/Steelers game that is not covered by TCW and I cannot attend either, I have never seen any abuse given to the operators at Steel Night Live from the Panthers fans. I’d like to think that’s a general obversation from everyone else too.

  4. 4 tammy November 14, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I’m a fairly new hockey fan but over the last year have become hooked on hockey and the panthers. I love the coverage on TCW and can’t understand why some people have issues with the coverage. As you say you are all panthers fan so why shouldn’t you be pro panthers?! I fully agree if they don’t like it they should shove off elsewhere, oh wait! there isn’t really anyone else who does what the TCW guys do is there!

  5. 5 Leo November 14, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    This does not suprise me…. If you read some of the comments on some of the social network sites you will see that they were even turning on their own team, I have to say this did give me great pleasure to read and I am sure some of the Steelers players would have read it too. I guess that with this huge rivalry you’re always going to get some idiots that are childish and immature.

  6. 6 Cheryl November 15, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Well said Jono, TCW is a brilliant service and I don’t know what I would with out it. I was at the match but always read TCW. Keep up the good work.

  7. 7 William R Wilson November 15, 2011 at 3:36 am

    JONO72 & friends- The true knowledgeable HOCKEY fans would not act like the few displays from SHEFFIELD FANS.I hope you have the mechanics to discard the TRASH & respect the large percentage of SHEFF FANS who do not act this way. Good luck to all! PROFESSOR WINK

  8. 8 Steelerian November 15, 2011 at 7:47 am

    Jono, as you know I regularly tune in to TCW, SNL, and many other similar services run by fans around the league.With me living away its a great source for me, and helps me feel like Im there at the game. Without it I’d feel totally lost, and would miss it so much more than I already do. And for this, and to all the people like yourself, I will be eternally grateful.

    I 100% do not agree with any abuse handed out to you, or any other person, fan, or player, especially when you are doing this out of the goodness of your heart, and for free. Obviously we as followers/readers/listeners only get to see the posts that you choose to publish, and Im sure that the ones you do not publish are even worse.

    We all wear rose tinted specs when it comes to our respective teams. We are all proud of our teams, but at times we are blind and we do all think that our teams can do no wrong (incl both you and I). This is magnified 100x when it comes to Sheffield v Nottingham. Emotions run high, and things are said in the heat of the moment that Im sure are later regretted – things that are easy to say from behind the security of the keyboard at home. Luckily, as you say, this is limited to only a mindless minority.

    But please dont take these comments to heart. Take them for what they are – the views of said mindless minority in the heat of the moment. As they say, “dont let the b*stards grind you down”.

    Keep up the good work.

  9. 9 Brenda November 15, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Jono, for the next Steelers v Nottingham game do not leave the comments on. Let those who like to chuck insults about be frustrated. Silence the idiots.

    Keep up the good work, I and my friend (who I have to text the scores to) would miss you, Iain and the rest of the ‘gang’.

    As previously stated “dont let the b*st*rds grind you down”.

  10. 10 Simonski Boy November 19, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Face facts – its an excellent service provided by Panthers fans largely for Panthers fans. If you don’t like the inevitable bias (I think its called enthusiasm for your chosen team isnt it?) then don’t join the service and set up your own version yourself. The vast majority value the service very highly (it is the next best thing to being there yourself if you cant attend in person for some reason) and a big thank you to everyone who makes it happen. I am sure you must miss a lot of the game action yourselves in order to provide it to us. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 828,592 hits since 20th May 2008

