Allan Decker to cease writing for The Cat’s Whiskers

After a long telephone conversation this evening it has been decided that Allan Decker will stop writing his ‘Tie Down The Jersey’ column.
I felt it was only fair I spoke to him to speak of my concerns about his column and its contents. I felt that there was a possibility that the reputation of TCW could be damaged, and obviously I don’t want that to happen. While there were a few people who enjoyed his columns the vast majority found them offensive from the feedback I’ve received.
Allan totally understands this, but was honest enough to say he wouldn’t tone down his articles because of the criticism. This is the way he wants to write and I totally respect that, therefore we both agreed that it was the best that he stopped writing the column.
I have agreed for him to write a farewell piece that will be published later this week.
Personally I would like to thank Allan for making the effort to write the column each week. While I didn’t agree with a lot of what he wrote I appreciated that he took the time and effort to do it.

This once again leaves a gap for a regular weekly column writer on this site. If you would like to take up the mantle then please contact me through the usual channels.

Jono Bullard
Editor, The Cat’s Whiskers

3 Responses to “Allan Decker to cease writing for The Cat’s Whiskers”


  1. 1 Eric November 28, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Good decision. Of course everyone has the right to express their opinions, but his were not really very well expressed and lacked both depth and fairness. Sorry, but I for one will not miss him.

  2. 2 Chris November 29, 2011 at 3:11 am

    Excellent decision Jono. To be fair I think it should have happened at least two or more weeks ago. Allans articles were not only offensive and classless, but I feel were giving us Panthers fans and this site an awful reputation. I hate to say this about a fellow Panthers fan, but I for one am glad to see him gone.

  3. 3 GP November 29, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    Good decision Jono, I guess you gave him an opportunity and he let all of us Panthers fans down.

    I thought all of his columns were offensive and classless, I think the only reason I kept reading is to see if he was joking!!! Unfortunately not…


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 829,731 hits since 20th May 2008

