Goodbye from Allan Decker

That’s it then, it’s over.

I will say now, it’s not because I can’t take the criticism. I really couldn’t care less what people of think of my opinions, because that’s all they are, but I understand that TCW is Jono’s platform and if people really dislike me that much it’s affecting the wider site, it’s probably best that I bow out.

I don’t make any apologies for my views or my writing style. I’ve never personally abused anyone, something my critics could maybe learn from? As I said on my last article, I’m just a fan venting his spleen online.

Turns out though, people don’t want to read an opinion any different to the status quo. I found out myself in the same way Greg Mitchell did (while on that, to the people that wanted him out, careful what you wish for eh?).

I don’t know if Jono will want anyone to post an alternative view point on British hockey in the future, twice now the happy clappers and morally outraged have cried and complained that people other than them dare enjoy their sport. Quite high and mighty wouldn’t you think? ‘We don’t want it turning in to football’. That’s funny because in the next breath people are saying that the sport needs to grow and compare it directly to football and rugby. Ho hum.

I may find another platform to rant and rave, thanks to those that saw my article for what it was, an opinion piece.

Jono’s note: While I didn’t often agree with you Allan I would like to thank you for taking the time & the effort to write something each week.
I have been contacted by someone who wishes to write a weekly column and it is someone who has had articles publised on here before (it’s not Greg Mitchell though before the rumours start). The new column will be published tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Goodbye from Allan Decker”


  1. 1 Adam December 1, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    You were ousted because you were harming the good reputation of the cats whiskers and because you were a poor comparison to the former great of Greg Mitchell. Don’t give me that power to the people rubbish, your demise was your own doing.

  2. 2 Fiona December 1, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Not the most gracious way to bow out. I totally agree that how ever much TCW try to distance themselves from your opinions they can’t help but be implicated. This was the only way this story could end. I hope you find another way to vent your spleen which doesn’t involve anyone else!

  3. 3 Steve December 4, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Quote; “I’ve never personally abused anyone”.

    Maybe not, you hid behind a keyboard and wished professional hockey players serious injury. You wouldn’t say the same thing to the face of Rod Sarich or Sidney Crosby (the one and only time those names have shared a sentence!) if you were in the same room.

    That mutual respect you harp on about? Another reason for that is that those mortal enemies on the ice might have played together in the past, or may one day in future be teammates relying on each other. By the same token, those same players you’re happy to see injured might be future Panthers.

    Might want to reflect on that one, mate. In the meantime – so long, and good riddance.


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 829,388 hits since 20th May 2008

