Some Perspective Required

What I’m about to write will probably not be popular with most Panthers supporters, however after what I’ve read on forums and various social media this weekend I feel it has to be said. Some fans really do need to get a bit of perspective.

Defeat in Braehead on Saturday has probably ended our bid for a league title for yet another season. As usual, The Cage went into a frenzied meltdown. Postings were suggesting sacking the coach, sacking the management, replacing all the Brits, replacing all the imports etc. Also, that the other competitions are worthless. That, for me, shows a massive amount of disrespect for what why have achieved recently. While I’m as disappointed as any other fan that we probably won’t win the league again, we have been the most successful club in the Elite League over the past five seasons with regards trophies won. We have 5, Sheffield & Coventry 4 each and Belfast 2. This has been our most successful trophy winning era since the 1950’s.

Before our play-off triumph in 2007, we had won just 7 trophies in 26 seasons, in fact before that triumph we had won just one trophy in the previous 6 seasons since moving to the NIC. They were barren times and they made me appreciate every trophy we win.

That’s why I get slightly annoyed when recent achievements are dismissed because we have failed to win the league again. I feel we now support a club that now how to win things, five trophies in five seasons prove that. It feel that our achievements are not being given the respect they deserve by some fans because of a failure to lift the title.
Don’t get me wrong, I would love nothing more than to see us win the title, it would be the ultimate and I would love to see it one day, but some really do need to take a deep breath and reflect on what the club has achieved over the past five years, because it really is something to be proud of.

7 Responses to “Some Perspective Required”


  1. 1 Mark January 16, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Whilst I agree we may no longer win the league, don’t you think it was questionable why the game in Braehead needed to be for both League and Cup? Surely a cup semi final should have been exactly that and League points shouldn’t have been at stake.
    Is this the Elite League again making it more difficult for the Black & Gold to win the League

  2. 2 BigLad #11 January 16, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    RE: Mark’s comment – it comes down to ice availability. Braehead couldn’t get any.

    As for the article, I completely agree Jono. However, I still don’t think this season is finished yet. If this team has shown us anything this season it’s that they don’t know when they’re beaten. Even if we don’t win it, I fully expect us to be up there within a couple of points…which is an improvement on recent seasons!

    I just wish they fans at the NIC made as much noise as we do when we go away.

  3. 3 Garry January 16, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I think you are spot on with this. Yes I am gutted that we may not win the league but the toys are staying well and truly in my pram. I have seen and read some stupid stuff, including someone sending one of the players a tweet that had at the end #pisspoor. This is going too far!

  4. 4 Onlyme January 17, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Spot on Jono

    I for one don’t visit the cage any more based soley on the majority of idiots it attracts.
    Alot assume they are the biggest and best fans and anyone without a post count isn’t one.
    They assume they are the fan base for the club when all they are is the moaning minority.
    A clique of moaning egotistical arrogant muppets who tend to think they can run a hockey club better than any NHL club owner.

    I urge any new fans to avoid the place as I’d it’s full of lepers.

    Keep up the good work Jono and the panthers . I’m just glad the players don’t take note of sites like the cage. We are a laughing stock based on the posts on there.

  5. 5 Steelerian January 17, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Good article.

    Ive not been on The Cage over the last week or so, but I can well imagine what its been like. But Panthers fans have to remember that although you may not win the league this season, you are getting closer all the time, in regards to having a team fit to win the league. Wholesale changes are not needed. Im not a fan or Corey and feel that you could do better in the coaching dept. But regards the teams itself, just a few tweeks and you have a championship winning team. Players like DAB and Fox are great additions, and your Brits get better each and every season. It will come, eventually. Be patient. It will be worth it in the end.

  6. 6 Jennie Strange January 18, 2012 at 7:52 am

    I agree with everything you have said. As for Cage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. 7 Ping January 20, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I’ve only been a fan for a couple of years, maybe that is why I am not so jaded, but the cage does seem to be a fair bit ‘moany’ 🙂


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 829,191 hits since 20th May 2008

