TCW Live – A Viewers View

I received the below article on Saturday night after the 6-1 victory over Coventry. The author wished to have a degree of anonymity, so we’ll just call him Phil. Obviously the below is his own opinion and he does refer to me throughout the article, however for me he could be referring to anyone of us who provide the service

Everybody reading this have probably used this service provided by Jono. How many of you have wondered why the updates ever started? As I was reading the updates tonight and could not fathom exactly why this service even exists at all.

I’m sure at some point we’ve all travelled to games and tried our best to keep our friends at home informed of the goals and incidents as they happen. I actually hate doing this for a few reasons: missing goal celebrations, missing the first few seconds of the next shift, trying to listen out for names and numbers of players you’re not too familiar with, to name a few.

I’ve sat close to Jono a few times during games and kept an eye on him as I was curious as to how he went about things. I can tell you all now that, as soon as the puck crosses the goal line, Jono’s head drops to view his phone quicker than the goal judge can light the lamp! At the same time that his head is buried, all the fans are on their feet, smiling, clapping and enjoying watching the team celebrate. For me that is part of the whole hockey experience.

In my opinion the game lasts around 2 hours and not just the 60 mins of play. During the breaks in play…..
I watch the line changes and see if there have been any rearranging of the lines,
I watch the bench of the team that iced the puck to see if they sneak a change,
I watch the players reactions as they finish a shift,
I notice any handbags that happen after the whistle,
I watch Finnerty throw his teddy after he’s called for a pen,
I see the dancing kid,
I see the horseman,
I see the adverts for the hogroast sandwich.
All of which Jono rarely gets to see, and these are just a few of the things that happen in the stoppages.

For me all these things are part of the entertainment that I pay for. Jono pays the exact same for his ticket as I do for mine, but seems to get a whole lot less for his buck than I do. The only thing I can see he gets back from it is abuse.

TCW Live previously had an option to leave a comment. Is that what people used it for? NO! People used the box to abuse Jono, they mocked his opinion and called him biased. This, to me, stinks of irony as they had to be using this service to even be able to comment! I dare say that a fair few of you reading this, have disagreed with things that have been written on there before, but the polite thing to do was to keep your opinion to yourself and be grateful that you know the score and are not listening to the GM’s voice on the Panthers hotline! (Do they still have that?) But others went that extra step and took it out on him personally. The comments box had to be taken away because of this, and that box was a great way for fans to say thank you to Jono and his team, but now Jono can’t even receive thanks on there from people who do appreciate what he does. Personally I’m made up the box has gone, I felt bad enough for Jono updating the scores without having to answer stupid questions/comments such as, What’s the crowd like? What colour shirts are Panthers wearing? I hope Penner beats up Pele and (my favourite) GO PANFUZ.

Can anybody see a reason for Jono to do this?

Maybe Jono is paid by the club to provide this service? (I can assure you I don’t!) After all he is providing a play by play update service for over 1,500 viewers.
Maybe all the abuse he gets makes him want to help us all out a little bit more?
Maybe Jono just has nothing better to do?

So a question I would like answering from Jono is, WHY ON EARTH DO YOU DO IT?

Why do I do it? I got frustrated trying to find out scores from Panthers games, so wanted to provide a service where I could keep fans informed of what was happening at Panthers games. It has grown into the service it is today with up to 10 contributors and thousands of followers.
However with the success comes the downside. This season has been tough, very tough. The abuse both personal and to others has been hard to stomach for me. You sort of expect it from away fans, but not from Panthers fans and that has happened this season.
Also, there isn’t any free wireless at the NIC anymore so we have to rely on 3G. This has caused countless problems for me but mainly for Iain who keeps losing connection and has to abandon his part of the coverage.
I have to say at this point I do not know if I want to continue with the service next season, the abuse has really hurt but also I find myself missing more and more of the game as I try to get information down. I can’t speak for the rest of the guys, these are just my feelings, but I’m sure they’ll let you know how they feel.
I’m sure this isn’t what most of you want to hear, I know how much the majority love the service and the kind comments really are appreciated, but I need to do some hard thinking over the Summer and at the moment I can’t see me being part of TCW Live next season
Jono Bullard – The Cat’s Whiskers

13 Responses to “TCW Live – A Viewers View”


  1. 1 Geraldine February 1, 2012 at 11:40 pm

    Jono – I text a few people the goal updates and I know while I’m trying to get the text sent, something else has happened. Or I’m so busy texting, I miss what happens immediately after the goal.

    You (and the others) do an absolutely awesome job and I am disgusted that any Panthers fan, or indeed any fan, should have a go at you.

    You provide a great service for those unable to be a a game, but desperate to keep up with the score.

    I hope the actions of a few idiots will not spoil what is in fact a huge help to many other fans – and if my PC works along the Norwegian coast I’ll be logging on in ten days time!

    • 2 Christoff February 2, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Hi Jono,

      Just want to say I 100% agree with the all that has been written above, why you all sacrifice your game time to let the masses of people who couldnt make it know about every goal, save, penalty and punch is beyond me.

      I myself work for a certain wheeled branch of the NHS and the abuse and agro i take daily from about 10% of the people i meet is enough to make me question why i do what i do… but atleast i get paid for that, you guys dont.

      Working odd shifts i find your service invaluble as i could never hope to make all the games, if i bought you all a pint for each time i loaded up TCW live you would all be very drunk and I very poor.

      As a frequent user of your service I would be gutted to see it go as im sure would many many others… even those wretched few who make it likely to happen.

      Kind regards and tonnes of appreciation,

      Christoff

  2. 3 adrian February 2, 2012 at 6:58 am

    totally agree with the above only knew about your service this season and a great service you provide and its free.as with everything you always get a small group of twats who want to spoil it for everyone else.HOPE your back next season.

  3. 4 Outlaw February 2, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Iain here. I have been a commentator for TCW Live for the last three and a bit years and covered the majority of games with Jono, both home and away. I also host the show from home sometimes and have recruited a couple of friends to the TCW team as contributors.
    I have always been proud of TCW and really tried to bring the best comments I can in as full a manner as possible.
    Something has changed recently in signal at the NIC t and as I sit below floor level I have almost no signal at all and cannot contribute as I have done before.
    I have missed about 4 games now in a row and the difference in watching the hockey,.the enjoyment shall I say has increased. There is a pressure off. I can interact with friends and actually speak to my wife,.. Heck .I can even clap a goal rather than screaming “who got the second assist ?”
    Doing TCW is very time consuming and can be pretty hectic,.. It is FAR from easy.
    I will continue to cover away games and if there is a resumption in better coverage at home then I will be back for home games,….But I do think I will enjoy my period of leave !!

    Thanks,.. Its been emotional.

    Iain

  4. 5 Ken Abbott February 2, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Guys we love TCW Live, for a service that is free and done by people whose only intention is to give hockey fans live action updates as they
    happen, it’s amazing.

    When we’re not at a game my laptop is on and logged into your service, my daughter is upstairs doing the same thing on her laptop – our house shakes from top to bottom every time Panthers score.

    At the start of the season, when at a game I updated my Crazykennys Facebook page whenever a goal went in, everybody’s up cheering and you’re sitting there, head down, tapping away on your smartphone – you miss so much.
    I soon got wise, I now update only during period breaks and at the end of the game.

    So, while on the one hand we, like many, many others, would really miss the live service, however, if by doing the service it spoils your enjoyment of the sport that you love then maybe it’s time to reign it in or at least have a rota to spread and share the load as much as possible.

    As for the abusers, there are always thoughtless idiots out there who would benefit from a frontal lobotomy, it’s not easy but you have to ignore them.

    Hope you do continue but wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t.

    All the best.

    Ken

  5. 6 Eric February 2, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Good to see this matter get a full airing. I have used TCW for games for about a year now and it has enriched my enjoyment of Panthers immensely. I love it. It has become part of my weekly routine and is a highlight.

    So if it stopped I would be gutted. I am already quite *&&$%&*** off that we can’t make witty comments/ ask dumb questions/ get a debate started during the game with comment box. I know the abuse is stupid – too bad we can’t just bar those who deserve it (not me (aka Bigguy) of course). In fact, I would make a plea that Jono, Iain and the others consider turning it back on for a trial period.

    I think the TCW service is infinitely superior to the Fire/Ice Inferno and other fan sites, it is much more professional and fair-minded.

    Keep it going guys/gals. Please.

  6. 7 DV February 2, 2012 at 8:31 pm

    Jono, you’re a trooper, and the mindless few yet again ruin it for the normal minded majority. As said in others’ comments I hope you carry on but really who can blame you for not continuing. I lkove it for the away coverage, I hardly miss a home game having a season ticket.

    all the best

    DV

  7. 8 Fiona February 3, 2012 at 12:35 am

    I suppose most of us have come to take TCW Live for granted. I for one had never really thought too much about what goes into providing this type of service. Reading this article has certainly brought it home to me and I would consequently like to say a very big thank you to all of you who sacrifice your enjoyment of the game for the good of others. I don’t blame you for feeling affronted by the abuse you have received but the good far outweighs the bad. There are people out there who revel in disrupting the enjoyment of others. Please don’t let the idiots win. p.s. I’m missing K Wall’s dad!

  8. 9 Steelerian February 3, 2012 at 6:52 am

    “Phil” raises some very valid points. To be honest Ive never before thought about all the things you guys must miss whilst typing on your phones, as Im sure most havent. I think most of us just take it for granted.
    Obviously I dont tune in to TCW every week, but always do when you are playing the Steelers, and I especially love the odd time when you do the whole league coverage. I think (hope) that Ive let my appreciation be known many times over. For someone such as myself who is living overseas the service you guys provide, along with SNL/Inferno/etc, is a god send.
    Please please please keep up the good work.

  9. 10 John H February 3, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Well if you decide to pack it in, it will be missed by many fans of all teams. The idiots who provide the steady stream of abuse have no place in the sport.

  10. 11 Simonski Boy February 3, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    TCW service is superb and very much appreciated by many. I would be unhappy but not surprised if Jono and co decided to pack it in. I do hope you don’t as those of us who cant make very game really really appreciate all you do for us. If any of the abusive people are reading this – grow up and please dont bother logging in in the future.

  11. 12 Cadders February 4, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Noooooo, please don’t stop ! Having children often means we can’t make mid week matches and often have to miss Saturday matches as son plays ice and inline hockey. Your service is invaluable and would be great missed, however sometimes people need to know how hard it is for someone to provide this service to make them appreciate it. What I think everyone should do is a) make a small donation to the 4×4 road trip site…..if everyone who visited even put £2 it would mount up to a phenomenal amount and b) plead to the Panthers to provide at least Jono with a free season ticket, this service kerosene people feeling involved in the sport when they can’t attend which has to be a good thing !!! I hope that you do continue and the minority do not ruin it for the rest of us !


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 828,942 hits since 20th May 2008

