A Tribute to Danny Meyers

Danny Meyers Panthers Career
Games: 323
Goals: 23
Assists: 93
Points: 116
PIMs: 217
Trophies: 3 x Play-Offs (2007, 2011, 2012); 4 x Challenge Cup (2008, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Shock, surprise and sadness. That’s how I felt when I first found out that Danny Meyers had been released by the Nottingham Panthers today. This isn’t an article to bash the Panthers for the decision though, it’s to pay tribute to the most successful captain that Panthers have ever had, skippering the team to five trophies in his three seasons with the ‘C’ and winning seven trophies in his six years with the club. As a player I rated him highly, a very assured defenceman who always gave 100% on every shift, for me he was the best British defenceman in the country. As a captain and a person I rated him higher still.

Over the past season I’ve been privileged enough to meet with and speak to Danny a few times. The first was back in September when he gave me this interview for The Cat’s Whiskers. It was a brutally honest interview, but during it I could tell from the way he spoke & his body language how much being a Panther meant to him and how honoured he was to captain the team. He revealed that he would regard it as a failure in his career if he didn’t lead Panthers to a league title, sadly it seems that ambition will never be realised for him.

He also agreed to do An Evening With…. just 10 weeks ago with David Simms. One of the subjects talked about that night seems pretty pertinent now. Danny was asked what he’d do if if he ever left Panthers and his answer was along the lines of he never wanted to leave but if it came to that then he’d have to feed his family and pay the bills. I expect now that nine other Elite League clubs & coaches are looking at their budgets!

As I said earlier in this article, Danny was the most successful Panthers captain of all time. Speaking personally he’ll always be a Panthers legend in my eyes, he was a leader, a winner and wanted the very best for the club, the players & himself. I wish him every success in his future career, wherever he ends up.

4 Responses to “A Tribute to Danny Meyers”


  1. 1 James April 26, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    Rumour is he’ll be heading 45 miles up the M1 – gutted if he does

  2. 2 kathy Wilkins April 26, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Gutted too but as the man said he has a family to provide for and we all know Danny never shirks his responsibility. I will hate to see him playing for the neighbours, but really wish a great guy every happiness

  3. 3 Fiona April 26, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I can’t remember ever being this upset about a player being axed. I could understand it if he had failed to do his job but that isn’t the case. He has tirelessly worked for the Panthers on and off the ice and is respected by the fans of ALL teams. The euphoria of the double-double has been overtaken by a real feeling of loss. Danny will be missed so badly. I will never forgive Corey and co for this and just as I was starting to warm to him!

  4. 4 Pete Walch April 27, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Reminds me of the release of Tim Peacock all those years ago. Understandable but tough to take. I bet the coach lost some sleep over this decision.


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Pages

TCW has had

  • 829,368 hits since 20th May 2008

