The Weekend Starts Here?

With the 2012/13 season less than three months away, I decided to have a look at the Capital FM Arena website to see what dates are taken up by other events. The reason for my interest is I received two e-mails from the Arena this morning informing me that Saturday 29th September & Saturday 6th October would see the venue play host to the Ultimate Fighting Championship & Cheryl Cole respectively (Cheryl Cole in the UFC would have been a more attractive proposition for me but that’s by the by!) I had look to see if any other Saturday dates were being taken up with other events sure enough Michael McIntyre on the 8th September & Ice Age on the 27th October will see that there will be no Panthers home game on 4 of the first 8 Saturdays of the season.

I don’t want people to read this and think I’m having a go at the Arena, I’m not. The Arena is a business first and foremost; concerts and events will always bring in far more money than the Panthers so it is understandable that more lucrative events will always take priority, especially in times of austerity. From a purely selfish point of view it is annoying to lose so many potential Saturday night games, but to be honest it has been like this since we moved into the NIC so it shouldn’t come as a surprise to anybody.

What I think the club maybe should look at is an alternative to Saturday night. From a purely selfish point of view again, I’m not a fan of 4pm Sunday face-offs but I do see the necessity of them in attracting a family friendly crowd. That being said I wouldn’t like 4pm Sunday’s to replace 7pm on Saturday, so I propose more Friday face-offs if possible. My reasoning is this, Friday night is the closest ‘experience’ to Saturday night, most are still off work the following day, kids don’t have to get up for school and the social ‘night out’ crowd can still come along to the game and go out afterwards. Granted the face-off is usually slightly later at 7.30pm but I feel Friday night hockey could work well when it is needed and it does work well in other markets, most notably the DEL in Germany.

Obviously the above is just my opinion and I’ve written this as a discussion piece more than anything else (given the fact there isn’t too much else going on at the moment and there’s been nothing on the site for well over a week.) I’m not proposing that Saturday night games are replaced or moved to a Friday; Saturday should always be the number one priority when available, I just feel that the club ought to look in using Friday’s more as demand on the Arena seems to be increasing.

7 Responses to “The Weekend Starts Here?”


  1. 1 Garry June 12, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    If they moved face offs to Friday then I won’t be back, this is a non starter for me and I’d be really annoyed that I shelled out on a season ticket, expecting the majority of games to take place on a Sat night
    My overwhelming preference is Sat night games and at a huge push Sunday nights.

  2. 2 Ian Braisby June 12, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Personally I prefer Sunday 4pm to Friday evening. It allows me to have a lazy Sunday morning with family or do any errands or jobs that need doing, drive up from Birmingham to Nottingham for the match, get back and have some food and still get to bed at a time that leaves me fresh for work on Monday. Friday evenings are tough as I work 2 or 3 out of every month. Even if I’m not working in the evening, getting up to Nottingham on a working day is tough. For me, preference is Saturday, Sunday afternoon, Friday evening, other midweek evening. But I understand that this is my selfish opinion and others with different commitments and family/work situations will think differently. If I lived in Nottingham and didn’t work Friday evenings, that would be my preferred choice every time rather than a Sunday.

  3. 3 Alisdair Howie June 12, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    Friday night is training night for the 2 under 10s teams that are part of the NIHC. Training finishes at 7.15 so unless face off was after 7.30, me, my son and a number of others would miss a significant part of the game. You can’t please everybody but I have bought my season tickets thinking that there would not be Friday night games.

  4. 4 Fiona June 12, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Friday night would suit me! The 4pm games on Sundays are a nightmare. It can’t be long until the fixtures meetings take place so at least the Panthers can put their spoke in for whatever available Saturdays are left.

  5. 5 Craig Strongman June 12, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    Friday games were popular back in the old barn, I think they would prove to be popular with most fans, obviously not all.

  6. 6 Garry June 12, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    I’ve had a look at the NiC bookings and 2 of the 4 bookings cross Friday night anyway, so even when Sat is blocked out so is Friday night. So realistically the club will have to build fixtures around these blackouts. I guess they need to get a move on and get the fixtures published and therefore book/reserve the arena for ice hockey.

    Also could Sunday night matches not face off at 6pm instead of 4pm?

  7. 7 sparkymark75 June 13, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    It’s supposed to be a National Ice Centre yet ice sports get moved aside for pop concerts!


Leave a Reply

The Cat’s Whiskers Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

TCW has had

  • 828,788 hits since 20th May 2008

